crooked_fairytale

A blog about ramblings in my head

Hello cyber world I’m finally here April 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — scorpiomamma @ 9:17 am

Hello world,

here I am finally writing my first blog, something I have been wanting to do forever but was too afraid to try, well actually I did try to set up a travel diary a few years ago but I couldn’t seem to direct anyone to it so it became a seriously futile exercise. 

When it comes to anything web based I lack confidence, a part of my brain completely freezes and I cannot seem to move beyond my own cyber phobia.  I was like this at college, when it came to learning html coding I choked, every Tuesday I would wake with a headache that rapidly escalated to migraine status.  No matter how many times my teacher explained it and made me copy the basic coding over again it simply would not register.  There I was doomed to failure.  It didn’t help that my teacher was void of any human attributes, he was probably a technical genius but had little time for those of us who were technically challenged and to him I was simply the student taking up valuable programming time and one he tried to avoid.

It was finally years later when writing my own notes and exercises for a basic web design program (somehow I was talked into running it) that the simplicity of it all fell into place, it was as though the pieces of a puzzle magically fell into place and I understood their true meaning.

It was like this with Blogging.  My desire to pursue this idea was overshadowed by my enormous fear of the unknown cyber world and I continued to travel around in circles, researching hosting sites, blogs, blog names, user names, what do I say, what do I not say etc and so I continued until the burning need for my fingers to vent could no longer be contained and here I am at the completion of my first blog.

As a recently new aquaintance said “just do it”and now that I have it really wasn’t that bad and I’m wondering why it took me so long

 

9 Responses to “Hello cyber world I’m finally here”

  1. Mark Says:

    Welcome to the world of bloggers! Always good to hear from the voices in your head. 🙂

  2. Mrs B Says:

    Congratulations for finally taking the plunge! I think you are going to do just fine. Heck you might have even found your techy niche right here 😉

    Looking forward to reading more from you!

    xxx (crazymumma)

  3. Tricia Says:

    Welcome to the blogosphere – looking forward to reading what you have to say! 🙂

  4. So you’ve finally done it. Well done.

    Just write and write and sell yourself. Don’t be disheartened if you your numbers start slow. It takes time to build. If I gave up early on I wouldn’t have the 12,000 views I have now. 🙂 I still wish I got more comments though.

    Make sure you use plenty of tags as well. There are what people use to search on google etc. The more relevant the tag the better.

    Oh, nice name! Better than the others I came up with.

    🙂

    p.s. It’s awesome to be the first person to comment as well. Yay

  5. macsnorky Says:

    Yay! Welcome to the blogosphere! I’ve started (and dumped) more blogs than I can recall, before finally starting the one I have now not that long ago. Finally I’m comfortable with what I’m doing and just taking it slow.

    RT’s and mentions from friends are priceless in getting readers, plus commenting on other people’s blogs too. If you comment on others, others will return the favour.

    Looking forward to seeing where your blog takes you!

  6. Mysskitn Says:

    Well done 😉 love the name & am inspired to get going… Haven’t blogged in too long


Leave a Reply

